Realization

We all know that I do Weight Watchers.  I love the program, I love having to have accountability.  But this morning I was laying in bed and I saw my calendar that I had put together for myself, keeping track of my goals and how much weight I’ve lost.  It’s still sitting on March…and I’ve only lost 1.5 lbs since then.  I paid $80 to lose 1.5 lbs.  Ouch.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lindsay
    May 13, 2010 @ 16:36:36

    That’s okay! A pound is a pound now that you see the money you have spent you will be motivated more!!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    May 13, 2010 @ 19:58:13

    I can empathize with your line of thinking. For me, it is exercise equipment in my basement. It is $82 per month that my family is spending for YMCA membership. It is special running shoes that never get used for running.

    Fortunately, over the same two month period, I’ve seen good results, but it hasn’t been because of the exercise equipment, YMCA membership or special shoes. I haven’t used any of it in several weeks, maybe even a month now. In those cases, I *do* wonder if I have wasted (or am continuing to waste) money. I don’t like it at all.

    However, let me put it in this perspective:

    Without spending the $80, do you think you would have been less accountable and might have gained weight over the same time period?

    Has paying the $80 cemented in your mind that you have made the right decision? (In other words, do you feel that in the last two months you have made a renewed commitment to weight loss?)

    If you answered YES to either of those questions, then $80 is a good investment in your future, future change, future dreams, a future!

    Reply

  3. kelerific
    May 13, 2010 @ 21:23:53

    You both are absolutely right. Jennifer, yes, paying that money did cement in my mind that I’ve made the right decision and I *know* I wouldn’t have lost *any* weight and would have gained had I not been doing WW. So you’re absolutely right!

    This is why I love blogging…I know I have readers who get it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

