The Biggest Loser

Do you guys watch The Biggest Loser?  I love it and I hate it at the same time.  One of the things I love about it is that it shows that there are so many people doing the same thing that I am and it truly inspires me.

But what I hate about it?  The monster losses that the contestants have.  9-12 lbs a week?  Seriously?  I’ve caught several professionals saying that not only is this not a good thing for your body, but it sets you up for feeling like a failure (when you only have like a 2 lb loss, which we all know is quite an accomplishment) and also for having the tendency for gaining the weight back.

Sure, we’d all love to lose 10 lbs in one week.  I’d be finished with this journey in a little over two months.  That would be fabulous.  But I personally don’t think it’s realistic.  I wonder how many of these people have gained the weight back once they get home and back to where they can’t work out for 4 hours a day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    May 18, 2010 @ 20:49:32

    I’ve admittedly never watched the show, not even once. However, like all reality shows, I tend to assume that much of it is staged and presented for its entertainment value.

    I also tend to believe what you’re saying is true — that if the weight comes off too quickly, it is more likely that it comes back on.

    Even though I’m guessing that there are some phenomenal weight loss and success stories, I actually feel a bit sorry for the puppets that are put on display and especially, as you said, are not treated to the same level of personal training after the season is over. After they’re no longer in the spotlight, I wonder how many of them have the means (or desire) to keep up the same regimen?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

