Trigger Foods

Do you have a trigger food?  I have many.  But sometimes I’m surprised at some of them.  Take tonight for instance.  I had some salad leftover from lunch so that’s what I was going to eat for dinner and my husband has been bugging me to make him polish sausage and mashed potatoes for dinner.  Now, I love this meal.  But I really didn’t think much of it when I was cooking it.  I knew I was going to eat my salad and have one small piece of sausage and a small scoop of potatoes.  No big deal.  And that’s just what I did.   So just now I’m cleaning up the kitchen and that sausage…oh my…it hit me.  I wanted it and I wanted it all.  I wanted to stuff my face with it.  I almost walked away from it…but I didn’t.  I hurried up and put it in a tupperware dish and put it up because I knew that if I walked away, it’d be sitting there in 10 minutes when I came back and it’d hit me again.

Trigger foods – 0, Kelly -1

Go me.

As I mentioned in my previous post, I’ve been catching up on back episodes of this season’s Biggest Loser and I was watching that while I ate dinner and now I’m going to exercise.  I definitely think that watching the show is a good motivator for exercising.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    May 19, 2010 @ 19:11:37

    Great job!

    I can totally relate. With me, while I am cleaning up the leftovers, if there’s just a little bit left, it is so easy to just eat it instead of dirty a dish to store it in for reheating the next day. The usual culprits of that are french fries (the frozen kind you bake in the oven) as I often have some of those left over. Back when I was not counting calories, I probably consumed about four times as many as I should. Now that I’m counting practically every darn morsel of food, the whole bag makes too much for a family of five. There’s always some left over. Depending on how hungry my husband or kids tend to be, sometimes there’s one serving left and sometimes there are three. And I love potatoes!

    Just wondering… with that MyFitnessPal you are using, are you using it to count calories too?

    Reply

  2. Lianna
    May 19, 2010 @ 20:02:08

    Mine would have to be flour tortillas. I can never have just one and they always contain cheese and something else. It’s very hard to say no to a taco! lol

    Reply

  3. kelerific
    May 20, 2010 @ 09:55:22

    Jennifer, yes I am using it for logging calories. And exercise too! I really love it. Like I said, I like points, but I really like seeing the nitty gritty better.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

