Carbs

So, it’s day one of my low carb plan. I’m following the Atkin’s recommended plan of starting out for two weeks with just 20 net carbs/day. I’m up to about 7.

I have heard so many negative comments among my friends regarding this. “You’re gonna be so bitchy,” “Be prepared for the headaches and massive hunger pangs,” “Ha! Good luck with that,” and, “You’re not supposed to eliminate carbs!!”

Why is it when you want to do something that you hear so many negative things? Maybe low carb isn’t the thing for everyone, but that doesn’t mean it’s not “good” for you. Eventually, I am going to reintroduce healthy carbs back into my daily diet. But for the next two weeks, it’s just me and those 20 net carbs.

P.S. I don’t feel bad at all so far today and I’ve been w/out carbs for 16 hours.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 14:59:48

    Kelly, if you don’t mind, after a couple days if you’re still sticking with the plan, please post what you’ve eaten for the couple of days so those that are interested can get a feel for what such a diet would entail. Or, if you have a link to share that describes fairly well what you are following…

    I think this could very well work for you. Don’t let others complain about it just yet! I think any diet that can jumpstart you is probably fine. I’ve had relatives that have done Atkins and have been very successful — at least short term. (I hated to type that part, but it’s true.)

    Reply

  2. kelerific
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 19:57:18

    Hey Jennifer! I went ahead and posted Day 1 of my low carb plan.

    I am worried about the weight gain–I hear this happens when you incorporate those carbs back in and your body kind of goes haywire! Read my next post about that!

    Reply

  3. Lianna
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 20:59:28

    I tried Atkins a while back. It’s what worked for my ex-bf and he pressured me to go on the diet (that’s a whooole other story lol), and I had unfortunate side effects from it, like feeling sluggish and constipated as hell but now that I think about it, I ate like crap. I was eating the same crap but without bread (bunless hot dogs and hamburgers, lots of cheese and mayo), so I’m sure that’s why I felt that way.

    I think as long as you eat plenty of veggies and fiber (lol) you’ll be okay low-carbing it. And it’s a pretty structured diet and I like structure.
    You can do it!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

