Day 1

As I said before, I’m doing good today. Let me tell you what I’ve had today.

Breakfast: 2 eggs (scrambled), cheese, green peppers–1.57 carbs
Lunch: QuikTrip Grilled Chicken Salad (lettuce, chicken, ranch dressing, shredded cheese)–2.86 carbs
Snack: String Cheese–.62 carbs
Dinner: Hamburger patty, shredded lettuce, guacamole, shredded cheese, zucchini & cabbage cooked w/bacon–10.01

That’s a total of 15.06 carbs. So I’m a little under for the day, if I’ve figured correctly. I’m good with that. I have some sugar free Jell-O in the fridge if I want a “sugary” snack.

I don’t feel bad at all–I don’t feel like I’m having any carb withdrawals. But I hear those can hit on day 3, so we’ll see. But I’m staying optimistic.

Jennifer mentioned that she has relatives who have done Atkins with great results-short term. I have thought about this and it is a little worrisome. For the most part, what I think happens is that people start incorporating too many carbs back into their diets creating that weight gain. I understand that this could happen if I’m not really careful. But I’m hoping that I’m starting a habit and I can keep it up after I start adding back in good carbs.

P.S. Go check out Jewlia!!!!  She hit her 100 lbs lost!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kendra
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 23:09:36

    If I may make a personal recommendation, I’d go with the South Beach Diet if you are doing the low carb. It is and it isn’t low carb. It really teaches you about how to eat carbs right. I followed it religiously for a while and still stick to the general guidelines now and I really love how I feel. True, I’m not making super fast progress but that’s mostly due to other things in life plus I feel like I could do this forever and not burn out. Seven months in, that’s a really good thing.

    Reply

  2. kelerific
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 07:44:35

    I’ve heard of the South Beach Diet, but from what I’ve heard (and I have no idea if it’s true) it has you follow a diet that is really hard to prepare for–like stuff that the normal person doesn’t eat. Does that make sense? lol. I guess I should just look into it, and find out for myself, huh? 🙂 Thanks for the recommendation!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

