Why mess with a good thing and I’m all over the place…

Ok. So, I’m not going to do the carb thing. But not for the reasons one may think. I’m not not doing it because of the so called “carb crash” or any other side effects. In fact, I’ve felt great yesterday and today. My main concern is when I add carbs back in I’ll sabotage myself.

With that said–what the eff am I doing to myself? I know what works. I know what works. Why do I constantly have to be finding the easy way out? This process is not easy. It’s a hard, long road. I think I’m entirely too focused on lose, lose, lose. Yes, that’s my goal but I get too stressed out. I cry and I complain and I cry some more when I see that scale fluctuate back up.

And let me share a secret with you. I’ve figured out what I’m doing wrong. See, I go to class Monday through Thursday and that’s in the same town (40 minutes away from where I live) as the gym I joined. So. I go to the gym at least 3 times a week and the on Friday–I just give up. This is me: “Well, you’re not going to the gym today, so you can cheat a little bit…” and that little bit turns into three days of debauchery. Because we all know what those bad foods do to us–they make us crave more and then more and more and more until we’re guilt-ridden with a full belly.

So, while I’ve got Monday through Thursdays down pat, I really need to work on the other three days a week. Walking, the Wii (Jenny, EA Active), DVD’s (Tae Bo) or some strength training–I have all this at home. There’s absolutely no reason why I need to give up.

Losing weight is a full time job–not just a sometimes job.

Sometimes I wonder if I want this bad enough, then I see people like Jennifer and Julia who have come so far in the amount of time that I’ve been struggling and I know that I can and will do this. I’m tired of saying it. I’m sick of it.

Let’s do this.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Jul 14, 2010 @ 15:47:22

    Love the new look!

    It is so easy for me to fall into those patterns on the weekends, too, and since I weigh-in on Thursdays, my “weekend” begins on Friday! So bad…. keep moving along and it will pay off!!

    Reply

  2. The Fat Chick
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 08:50:46

    Ok, I want to follow you. How do I follow you? WordPress just doesn’t spell it out for me like blogger does. Either that or I am supremely dense. LOL I’d like to think the former… Also, low carbing it could be awesome for you because you’re right, carbs spike insulin levels and create a false need for more sugar when they drop. I know I also just crave sugar after carbs because, well, they go hand in hand. Here’s to low carbing it and finding what works bestest for you. 🙂 Oh and reading back a few posts I saw your post titled JEALOUSY. Yeah, me too. I LOVE LOVE LOVE JEWLIA and she is a MAJOR inspiration to me. I just wish I had her drive and her support system. Obviously her husband is 100% supportive unlike the ice creaming eating, cookie shoving, daily fast food consuming people in my house. ((sigh)) but we CAN DO THIS THANG, right? RIGHT!

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 17:40:23

    It’s Thursday! Go to bed tonight with a plan for what you will do tomorrow and over the weekend to stay on track so that when Monday rolls back around and you return to the gym, you will feel a continued determination to make every day count.

    Do you ever go to the town that is 40 minutes away on the weekend? If so, schedule a stop at the gym to uplift your spirits!

    Reply

  4. kelerific
    Jul 15, 2010 @ 19:30:52

    You’re right, Jennifer! It’s time to kick it in gear. No giving up just because it’s the weekend!

    And no, I don’t drive to the gym on Friday-Sunday–I drive so much during the week that it’s a chore to make myself get back into the car to go anywhere. Ugh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

