A Light Bulb?

I’ve always searched for the reason I got so heavy.  And I’ve never really come up with a definitive answer.  My childhood was good, no traumatic events, nothing weird that sticks out.  But I’ve always assumed it had to be something horrible, otherwise, why would I do this to myself?  Well, weirdly enough Andrea over at A Cake for a Wife posted this blog about weight and money and I gotta tell you–she hit the nail on the head.

Food is comfort.  It is cheap comfort.  It was the little treats that my mom would make for us.  It was huge helpings of homemade mac ‘n’ cheese, chili cheese fries, deep fried goodness.  My mom wasn’t trying to make us unhealthy, she was trying to make up for what she couldn’t provide.  We didn’t take summer vacations; we hung out together at home.

I can always tell when times are good here at home now that I’m an adult.  The fridge is stocked with fruits and veggies and good for you foods.  But when we have to stretch the money (like right now), the food gets cheaper and worse for me.

Now, I know some will argue that fruits and veggies aren’t any more expensive than that junk food crap.  And I agree to a certain extent.  But let me break this down:  One bag of Lays Potato chips: $2.50–lasts 3-4 days (or longer depending), one pound of grapes: $1.99–lasts for one day.  A pound of grapes isn’t that much, my friend.

But is this an excuse to eat badly?  Well, it certainly shouldn’t be.  It certainly shouldn’t be.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 21:02:18

    I hear ya on this one! My parents were the same way with me and my siblings. I have considered that my parents have instilled in me unhealthy decision-making choices when it comes to food and the purchase and eating of it. However, I hope that I do a better job with my kids. I am frustrated when they complain about what I put on the dinner table because I want for them nutrition and lifestyle that wasn’t part of my upbringing. I want what is GOOD for them, and they just don’t see it. Like everything else, they want what their friends have, not what I want to give them. Sigh.

    Reply

  2. kelerific
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 19:22:57

    It is hard to cook good for your kids who are constantly going, “Mom, this looks disgusting; I’m not eating that.” Frustrating!!!

    Reply

  3. kristi
    Jul 21, 2010 @ 20:46:36

    Yes! You hit the nail on the head! I just found you, hope you check my blog out, I am trying to change my life by losing weight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

